Map of Crawford County, 1876
This map is a steel plate engraving dating to 1876 by the American publishers Everts, Ensign and Everts. It depicts an outline of the townships of Crawford County. Iroquois Indians, as well as other tribes, originally inhabited the land. The land was later acquired by a group of Dutch investors and resold to settlers. The Commonwealth also allocated land to Revolutionary War veterans as a bonus settlement for their service. The county was formed on March 12, 1800, from part of Allegheny County. It was named after Colonel William Crawford, who was an American soldier and worked as a land surveyor for George Washington. Crawford County is home to the largest natural and artificial lakes in Pennsylvania, Conneaut being the former and Pymatuning being the latter. Meadville, the county seat of Crawford County, was settled on May 12, 1788 by a group of settlers led by David Mead. The community was incorporated as a borough in 1823 and designated a city in 1866. The Talon Corporation, headquartered in Meadville, played a large role in the marketing and manufacturing of the zipper. Meadville is also known for the McHenry House. Now destroyed, the hotel was the staying place of John Wilkes Booth. It was rumored that he wrote on a windowpane of the McHenry House, "Abe Lincoln Departed This Life August 13th, 1864 By The Effects of Poison." While Booth did stay there occasionally, he was not a registered guest when the window was written on. The August 16th, 1864, issue of The Crawford Democrat reported the claim that Booth wrote on the window was false.
This stunning map has original hand coloring in shades of pink, yellow, green and orange. This particular map comes from the Combination Atlas Map of Crawford County, Pennsylania. This map is double paged, as issued. Published by Everts, Ensign & Everts at 714 Filbert Street, Philadelphia.
Plate size: 23.25" x 15.5"
Condition: Excellent condition with minor foxing
- Jenna Hovis